I, one Snout by name, present a wall

Tomorrow morning myself and a friend will begin a two day run of Hadrian’s Wall. From Bowness in the west to Wallsend in the east, we will take in 84 miles of what looks to be beautiful, rugged country. It is a charitable endeavour – and if you feel moved to sponsor us, you may do so here, for Refuge – but I have come to love running in a strange and contradictory way. As training for this, I have done half-marathons in Leeds, St Albans, the Cotswolds and around Box Hill – places I didn’t know well, which thanks to running I now feel acquainted with. I also appreciate the time I get when on road or trail to think and to consider. While I know it wrecks my legs, it helps my brain for sure.

I feel underprepared of course – I have been for almost every run I’ve ever undertaken, from my first 10K three years ago to the pair of marathons I’ve done. My feet have been problematic, though I’ve sort of fixed that with a combination of exercises and better footwear; I’m a good stone overweight; my knees have been dodgy for since I hit my teens; and I can feel the sinister forewarnings of shin splints. In anticipation of crippling wear-and-tear I have brought a walking stick north with me.

I am looking forward to it though. Tomorrow we will try to run about fifty miles, with about thirty on Tuesday. We’ll be up in six hours’ time, clad in lycra, sipping coffee and gearing ourselves up for the days ahead. Let’s see how we get on.

Published in: on July 29, 2012 at 9:59 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://technicalslip.wordpress.com/2012/07/29/i-one-snout-by-name-present-a-wall/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

