With my bucket and spade…

I’m off to Butlins for the weekend to enjoy the Belle and Sebastian-curated Bowlie courtesy of All Tomorrow’s Parties. Sorry that all the recent posts have been politics and music, that’s just what has been filling my radar in the last few weeks. Anyway, here’s a few of the bands and performers I’m looking forward to seeing this weekend.

To begin with, the curators themselves. Here is Belle and Sebastian playing ‘Sleep the Clock Around’, a song which can take me straight back to younger, simpler (more naïve?) times. Lovely. Also riding that sonic magic carpet will be Camera Obscura, who really ought to be ‘Suspended from Class’. Great song, and I’m excited about seeing them live.

Saturday afternoon should serve up a slice of utter lunacy courtesy of Julian Cope. I’m only familiar with his Teardrop Explodes output, but I’m intrigued to see him and hope he plays ‘Ha Ha I’m Drowning‘, though I’m not holding my breath. Grooooove. Somehow madly apt that the URL for that video ends in gnu.

Foals will be playing, and while I’ve not really got into their second album so much, their debut has been a favourite from recent years. I will be wheeling and spinning to ‘Balloons‘, a beautifully optimistic dance track, here seen at the start of the band’s fame when they were just mesmerising live. I also expect to be grinding to a Crystal Castles’ sponsored ‘Crimewave‘.

Very exciting blasts from the past include the Zombies (no, not that Zombie – though any excuse to link to that clip is to be embraced) and Vashti Bunyan. It also looks like there will be Orange Juice action in addition to the very welcome sight of Edwyn Collins back to health; nor should The Vaselines be missed, or a certain Seattle icon might turn in his grave.

New live for me will be the Dirty Projectors, which I’m pretty interested by, and the majestic Wild Beasts (who have got me oohing and aahing in feverish anticipation). Also I’ll finally get to see Field Music who folded shortly after I bought their first album but are now kindly making music again.

 

 

Published in: on December 10, 2010 at 10:49 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://technicalslip.wordpress.com/2010/12/10/with-my-bucket-and-spade/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

