Leaving Mexico

I am leaving Mexico tomorrow, and I have spent the last couple of days dashing around trying to tie up all the loose ends. To the people who took those dear houseplants, musical instruments, books, clothes and foodstuffs which I was unable to pack, I say thank you; a great service was done.

There are four groups of people I must thank. First, the many academic colleagues who have been generous with their time and resources while I have been here; this includes particularly the staff of CEMOS and the AGN, without whom I would have been rather stuck. Second, my British friends here, many of whom are among the members of Mexico City Cricket Club (who were so welcoming and, at points, forgiving!). Third, the staff of Centenario 107, which was to all intents and purposes my second home during my visit. Wonderful food, excellent service, great drinks and reliable wifi; a modern exile’s dream. I worry that I won’t know what to do with my Fridays now. Finally, my many Mexican friends (above all Pablo), whose generosity of time and spirit has been incredible.

I will miss Mexico very much, and I intend to write a couple of longer pieces on a) the fact of being in voluntary exile for almost a year and b) my broader impressions of Mexico, but I am also excited to have a long, fascinating journey home ahead of me. And I am really looking forward to being in London again, in so many ways.

Published in: on August 22, 2010 at 8:50 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://technicalslip.wordpress.com/2010/08/22/leaving-mexico/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You’ll be missed Bill!

    • Cheers Yas – keep me up to date on cricketing exploits and the Lancaster footy!

  2. Sad to hear that it’s the end of your trip, but it sounds as though you really made the most of it. Look forward to seeing you and Toni in London. Don’t suppose you’ll be back in time for Dave’s walk wouldja?

    • Ooh when is Dave’s walk? I hope so.


Leave a Reply

