Some early Proms recommendations

My highlights of the 2010 Proms so far…

Being away from the homeland, it’s the first year in a long time that I am missing the Proms. In theory it’s all available on iPlayer (albeit at lower bit rate for international listeners), though there do seem to have been rather a lot technical hitches which have limited my listening. Of the several Proms I’ve managed to hear so far, three really stood out – predictably they are somewhat Germanic and (specifically) Beethoven-heavy, but, well, that’s my taste and what do I know? I’d urge you to seek them out on the iPlayer before they disappear though (and they aren’t strictly subject to the usual seven-day rule because many of them are repeated more than once, effectively ‘renewing’ the listen again period).

Prom 5

Wagner – Prelude from Lohengrin
Mendelssohn – Violin Concerto in E minor, Op.64
Gunther Schuller – Where the Word Ends
R. Strauss – An Alpine Symphony

West Germany Radio Symphony Orchestra / Semyon Bychkov

Viviane Hagner (Violin)

This was a really solid programme, played beautifully by the WDR Symphony Orchestra. The Wagner and the Strauss were – in their own ways – tremendous. The former is crisp, spring-like and somehow deciduous, the latter expansive, bold and evergreen. Viviane Hagner was great, giving a decidedly textual performance of the Mendelssohn which was nonetheless soaring and emotive. The opening of the third movement never fails to lift me, and Hagner’s sweeping delivery was majestic – in the right hands, it is one of the purest expressions of joy that I have ever come across: just look at Itzhak Perlman’s face when he is playing it here. Contrary to some reviewers – and this one particularly – I enjoyed the Schuller premiere. It followed a well-trodden path for contemporary classical music but was, at times, disturbing and exciting. While it was (faint praise warning) something of a ‘mood piece’, it did capture a mood very well.

Prom 6

Beethoven – ‘Egmont’ Overture
Beethoven – Piano Concerto No.1 in C major
Beethoven – The Creatures [or Creations] of Prometheus – Overture
Beethoven – Piano Concerto No.4 in G major

BBC Symphony Orchestra/Jirí Belohlávek

Paul Lewis (Piano)

The BBC Symphony Orchestra did sterling work backing Paul Lewis in the First and Fourth Piano Concertos (the Second, Third and Fifth will follow later in the season – in fact I just checked and one was tonight, which I will listen to tomorrow). I wasn’t blown away by the First, but like the First Symphony it is, in my view, hamstrung by its deference to Mozart. Both overtures were smartly played, and though there were a couple of awkward mis-steps during the ‘Egmont’, its conclusion was very powerful. The Fourth Concerto was the highlight for me – a much more adventurous and ambitious piece which Lewis delivered with both technical and stylistic flourish. As an aside, this piece was premiered in what must surely have been one of the most culturally significant occasions in human history*, also featuring debuts for the Fifth and Sixth Symphonies and Beethoven’s last appearance as a concerto soloist (22nd December 1808).

Prom 14

Beethoven – Symphony No.1 in C major
Beethoven – Violin Concerto in D major
Beethoven – Symphony No.5 in C minor

Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie / Paavo Järvi

Hilary Hahn (Violin)

The second Beethoven Night was equal to the first, I felt; despite the relative weakness of the First Symphony, it was never less than diverting and does feature some playful surprises which were handled nicely by conductor Paavo Järvi. Hilary Hahn was as deft as ever, lending the Violin Concerto the bite it sometimes lacks, though never undermining its lyricism and grace. The Fifth was taken at a gallop, but it worked very well – some of the (often overdone) blood and thunder was toned down and this re-imagining was very successful. While I think Tim Ashley is broadly correct, I think he overlooks the exuberance and gravity of the finale of the Fifth, which no amount of light-batoned tinkering could dispel.

Also…

Of the others, the first half of Prom 2 (Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg) was great but I need to go back and finish it (if I can) – Bryn Terfel was sounding tremendous. I was disappointed to miss Prom 7 (Chopin Nocturnes) and would appreciate any views on how that was. Prom 10 (the Doctor Who Prom, also cheekily repeated as Prom 11 it seems) was great fun, though a bit light on actual music – both the incidental works (which apparently were accompanied by big screen clips and some live action) and the intervening classical pieces were played wonderfully though. If nothing else, it was a great demonstration of how to integrate a drum kit in an orchestra (a skill which sometimes spectacularly deserts screen music creators). I couldn’t face Prom 3‘s Simon Boccanegra even if he was Placido Domingo, though I suppose I might regret that if I ever slide from Wagner towards Verdi. I must also catch up on Prom 13 because I hate missing anything by Richard Strauss, however absurdly pompous it sometimes is.

*Eurocentric and biased towards modernity this may seem, but I think it’s fair

Published in: on July 29, 2010 at 10:06 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://technicalslip.wordpress.com/2010/07/29/some-early-proms-recommendations/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Can I just put the case for Beethoven PC1? The rondo finale is a corker.

    Yes, what a concert that must have been (the 1808 premiere of S5, S6 and PC4). I’m always astonished at these concurrences. I’m in hearty agreement with Benjamin Britten, for example, in claiming the last year of Schubert’s life as the most miraculous in musical history – the 9th Symphony, last three piano sonatas, String Quintet and Winterreise. Cripes!

    Disappointed that I haven’t got to any proms so far, though I’m booked in for Bruckner 9 / Schoenberg / Mahler in early September…

    • Oh, that sounds like it will be great. I’ve got a few to catch up on while I work today. I probably sounded a bit harsh on the LVB PC1, but I did enjoy it. I just felt that the 4th was a lot more lively on this occasion. I caught up with Prom 16 (LVB PC2 and Dvorak S9), which was wonderful. Also I was surprised how much I enjoyed listening to Prom 15 – especially the Colin Matthews Violin Concerto. I think I’ll listen to P23 today – Vaughan Williams and Elgar, I’ll pretend I am resting atop one of the Malverns…


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

